HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Our nearest beach - Jollas

The beach is not a place to work; to read, write or to think.
Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift from the Sea

---------

Helsinki has 315 islands and almost a 100 kilometres of shoreline. We live in the biggest island in Helsinki called Laajasalo.

This is our little public beach Jollas, which is nearest beach to us with Hevossalmi beach. Hevossalmi faces the open sea and Jollas is a cove facing the inner island so I always choose Jollas if the water is still bit cold. It's likely to be warmer there. This is where I've been cooling myself during these hot days. I think the seawater is about 20 C at the moment. It has a very effective cooling effect. :-) I'm very fortunate that it takes me about 2 minutes with a bike to the closest beaches.

Btw, summer is my time of the year.
I think I should have been born to a warmer region...
Someone clearly made a mistake sending me to this bloody cold north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.