CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Sam and Fiona about to head home upriver

We were late in setting off on our little trip to Ashleworth, to see the river again and to visit the Tithe Barn which Woodpeckers had discovered in the brochure for the National Trust which she had joined yesterday. It was a lovely drive in the heat of a classic summer day, crossing over the Cotswold escarpment at Edge, dropping down into Gloucester, over the river Severn at the Quays and then following the river's meanders to Hartpury on its west bank.

We had heard about a good pub at Ashleworth a few weeks ago, when we visited a riverside pub near Norton, several miles further up river on the the opposite bank of the River Severn. I put a picture from there on my Blipfolio. So a trip to combine some fine old architecture and a drink at a real ale pub on the river seemed an ideal way to spend the afternoon.

The Tithe Barn was interesting and we could walk inside, but it was difficult to photograph the interior. The exterior was also tricky as the only good angle was to shoot straight into the bright sun. Perhaps I will return with a tripod and some time. The medieval barn was built about 1500 right beside the church and the manor house, in the old area of Ashleworth, which is all liable to flooding from the still tidal river. The old Quay, where the Boat Pub is now sited, apparently dates back to Roman times when it afforded a good crossing point and has been used ever since. Boats even brought the stone to build the barns and church, but now it is just tourist cruising boats running between Gloucester, Tewkesbury and Worcester where the inland canal waterways can be accessed.

We bought our drinks, local cider for Woody and Bristol Best ale for me, and then headed out to the river to enjoy the view of the wide river, the trees lining the banks, the fields and the housemartins massing over the water to drink, chirrup and search for insects.

As we sat there, a couple of people on a nearby bench suddenly got up and approached me asking if I would take a photo for them as a memento. I of course agreed and tried to use their phone but none of could get a picture out of it. So I suggested that I would use my camera, which was beside me, and then email a picture to them. I snapped a couple of pics and then we chatted. Apparently Sam and Fiona had paddled their canoe down from near the pub at Norton we had previously visited, and were about to return. Sam is a farmer about a mile or so away across the fields on the far side of the river. I suggested that I take a few pictures of them in the canoe as well as they set off to paddle upstream. They went to get the canoe, which was a little way away, and then paddled it back to the quayside before heading home.

Here they are just coming down to say goodbye, before they turn around to fight the gentle current. I really enjoyed meeting them and have just sent them the pictures which I hope they enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.