Glen Roy

Due to being a day late yesterday I am now posting my second blip image today.

We had a great laugh last night and did have a bottle of beer after our barbecue. I would stop short of using the "HO" expression but I felt a bit muggy this morning. It is thankfully much cooler now than it has been over the last few days.

Mid afternoon I decided to have a wee run up Glen Roy on the bike. The last such trip up here saw me getting a right soaking as a pleasant afternoon turned suddenly very wet. This time I put a few things in the rucksack. Caley sees the lifting and loading of the rucksack as a very good sign of things to come and gets very excited. As I left he was confused and disappointed.

The cycle was not any easier today; torture on wheels on the crazy Glen Roy inclines. On the way out I had a breeze in my back and I thought it was a bit ominous when peddling hard on a down hill section I saw a bit of bog cotton blowing in the wind and it actually overtook me. I went past Brae Roy Lodge and beyond the Turret Bridge to an area called Annat on the OS map. Around here I saw a figure in the distance with a dog. As we met I realised it was a man I know from the village and we had a wee blether. J had been up to Loch Spey, a spot he had never visited until today. He was impressed with this very remote upper reaches of Glen Roy. J's dog is a beautiful shiny black Labrador. He lives just over the fence from Bob, Caley's brother and they regularly play together.

I cycled a little further on the very bumpy track then I stopped and took on some calories, a pear and a banana, a psychological compensation at least for over indulging the night before, then had a wee wander with the camera.

I was dreading the return trip with that stiff breeze and I wasn't disappointed, (doesn't make sense, lets say my dread was justified)

An app on my phone estimated 970 calories had been used when I got to the garden gate and I must say I had an appetite to replace them and more immediately. I was really hungry.

I was warmly greeted by Caley, who seemed to have forgiven me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.