legless2007

By legless2007

Stupid ideas lead to magical moments

Its not very clever to walk up a hill, chase butterflies and walk back down again in a 7 mile circuit in the temperatures we have at the moment. But it wasn't as high, hot or long as the walks I did in the Atlas mountains so I figured I'd survive.

It was hot, really hot, and for one moment (when I spotted a Dalek in a remote woodland) I thought I'd got heatstroke or gone mad, but I hadn't, there was a Dalek.

It was all worth it though. No people, meadows full of butterflies, thistles covered in Marbled Whites, a nature reserve practically to myself and a magical little glade in the woods with head height umbellifers and Silver Washed Fritillaries gliding over my head. If you've seen them fly you'll know how spectacular they are. They were all mine for that special time. I half wished I could share it with my friends but then, having them to myself was really amazing.

When I came back down the hill I was tired, sweaty, slightly pink and knowing i'd need to check myself for ticks but frankly who cares? The afternoon was magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.