yourlastname

By yourlastname

YAUM - yet another unusual memorial

This is yet another example of something old that I pass by regularly and to which I don't give a second thought. It's a drinking fountain - but who or what for I have no idea. It wasn't until today that I looked a little closer and saw that the inscription at the top of the fountain reads - J 1897 G - and below - In Memoriam.
So I wonder who JG was ... even today this structure stands right next to the main A23 to London (seen on the left of the image), in 1897 the London Road passed to its right hand side so it must have been erected in memory of someone important to have such a prominent position.
About 400 yards to the North is the site of an old coaching inn - I wonder if the troughs on each side were for horses.
Any ideas or thoughts gratefully received.
Happy next week to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.