Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Lunchtime....

This cute little Douglas Squirrel is eating some of the sunflower seeds spilled from the feeder by the birds. The red pepper I mix in with the seeds keeps the squirrels from climbing on the feeder but doesn't seem to be a problem on the ground. They just appeared on this island about 10 years ago (must have come with a load of lumber?)-you can tell where they've been by the piles of Douglas Fir cone scales that they take apart to get the seeds...they also can eat mushrooms, flowers, mice, and invertebrates.h

Edit: I've almost used up my allotted KBs for the Internet so in the interest of economy I will use it less ( comment less ) for 2 days until I am back in Seattle tues night for a few days and lots of Internet!
Will catch up more then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.