Return to the North

By Viking

Parapara sunset

Last full day in Golden Bay today. It has been a blissful few days with lots of thinking time. I've come to a few decisions about things which have being weighing heavy on my mind and I feel lighter already :-)
Did a walk up Pupu springs hydro electric dam today. I downloaded a new app 'map my walk' which I set going. I was gutted when I got to the end to see I'd only done 3.72km it felt a lot bloody longer than that. Was only when I looked at the thing more closely that I realized it was in miles- 6km is definitely much more like it!! So my legs say anyway!

Usually when I come to GB I only ever do the 20 mins Pupu Springs walk but today it was uphill to the old gold mining Area. The gold miners at the turn of the 20th century created a water race at the top of the hill to sluice the gold. It was abandoned in after about 10 years but then used again in 1920's by a hydro electric company to create electricity.
It is quite an interesting walk - for a part if it you are walking with a rock face on your right, a water race next to it and a foot wide walkway over it with a sheer drop below. Definitely not for those of a nervous disposition

More shots (including the raceway) here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.