When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

ARRG destroy ECDX

Never travel on Sundays if it can be helped. Which it couldn't. So my day started badly with multiple trips across Philly to catch a bus headed towards the venue where ARRG were playing in the ECDX tournament. The Sports center was in the arsehole of nowhere, miles out-of-town. It was only as my bus neared what I thought was my destination, that I discovered it was only part route on Sundays. An extra couple miles had just been added to the walk. The driver and passenger on the bus looked incredulous that I'd even consider such a walk "in this humidity???". Wasn't like I had any choice though was it?

Fairly safe in the knowledge I'd pass no one I knew, I took my shirt off to save it the inevitable soaking and set off marching up the side of the freeway. About half way, pavements ran out and I was left to roam across people's front Yards, before I finally rounded a corner on the sports center. I arrived in time to see Glasgow pipped to fall to their second defeat of the weekend.

ARRG had won their bout the previous day by some 100 points, so went into their match on a positive mind frame. The first half was pretty tight, their opponents Ithica, had some strong players. But ARRG are regular derby Napoleons. After their half-time huddle, they changed up their tactics, neutralising Ithica and steadily building to a comfortable victory. That left them having won all three of their sanctioned bouts while in the US. Mean Green Roller Derby Machines I tell you.

With serious derby business over for the trip, drinking could commence in earnest. So a suitably refreshed group of us watched Crazy Legs and Cider take part in a Fishtown vs The World challenge match on track three. I repurposed some of the chants I'd learned at the football for derby purposes.

The after party was a bit of a fandango though. The promised shuttle bus never arrived at the hotel to pick up our group, leading to a schism. Some grabbed taxis for the long haul into Philly. We headed for the off sales and started our own party outside the hotel. Turned into a no bad wee shindig by the time we left it.

[Pic: Crazy Legs and Cider are interviewed for Roller Derby TV post-bout by a man who thinks he's in Pantera]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.