When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Eye of the Tiger

Slightly red of eye and carpeted of tongue, I dragged Riot back across Philly. We had one day post tournament for her to see some of Philly. On rout a woman we dubbed Angry Banana Lady gave her male companion a monstrous beasting for having the temerity to get his bald head wet in the pouring rain.

Rain continued to pour all day. We weren't going to let that stop us of course. Anyway, it was warm vertical rain. Not real face numbing horizontal rain like you get back home.

First we visited the one spot I had been dying to see since I'd arrived. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, AKA "THE ROCKY STEPS". Obviously I had to run up them in the rain, singing eye of the tiger to myself as I went. Highly enjoyable. Riot mounted the steps at a more measured pace. Pop cultural nirvana.

Following our Rocky moment, I took Riot through a best of what I'd seen over previous days, the Love Sculpture, Center City, Historic District and China Town. Then we took a trip too Penn's landing to visit Mac's Tavern (owned by Rob McElhenney, Mac in Always Sunny in Philadelphia). For dinner I introduced Riot to the wonders of Cheu, before finishing off with drinks in the Locust and Dirty Frank's.

[Pic: M.Riot follows in Rocky's footsteps in front of the Philadelphia Museum of Art]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.