Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FEATHERS AND FUR

Another beautiful day and as I hadn't been to Christchurch, decided that would be a good plan - much too hot to go on the beach. Spent the bus journey chatting to a lady who didn't look a day over 70, but who said she was celebrating her 80th birthday on Friday. She even gave me her phone number so I can ring her to meet for a coffee the next time I am in Christchurch!

I had made up my mind to go for a coffee at the Captain's Club Hotel - rather more upmarket than Caffe Nero and after a pleasant hour at the hotel, I had a stroll along the banks of the River Stour, where there is always something happening - boats to watch, swans, sea birds, children playing, people walking dogs, sitting on benches reading or eating their lunch, or just enjoying the wonderful weather.

The words I chose for the HeartFreek July Photo Challenge were FEATHERS OR FUR, but you are very fortunate, because I have blipped both!

The swans weren't very keen on the dogs and were hissing a lot but the pigeons really don't care about much and as long as they can pick up the crumbs from people feeding the swans, they are quite happy.

I stopped to chat to a lovely couple from Plymouth who were resting with their dogs in the shade of a tree. They were quite happy for me to blip the dogs and told me they were Bedlington Terriers. Their names are Duke and Tilly (told them my friend, Lin would be pleased, as she has a Tilly) and apparently, they are small hunting dogs - you can read more about them here if you are interested.

I wandered round Christchurch Priory Gardens where the roses are magnificent and smelt wonderful. It was lovely and cool in the Priory Church, so I just sat and drank in the atmosphere of a wonderful place that dates back to the middle of the 11th Century!

Then, when I arrived back, after a hot and sticky journey on the bus, I was delighted to receive a gift from friends - some lovely fudge!! Think I had better leave opening it until Mr. HCB arrives at the weekend, although if I don't tell him........but perhaps I'd better, I think he reads my blips!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.