Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

After a hot and long day...

Another hot day, yet I spent most of it indoors working on the photo book for Adam's 16th birthday - it is taking ages, especially scanning all the old baby photos. I have to finish it by the end of the week as we are going away on Monday.

Adam is going into hospital on Thursday for a minor operation - a septoplasty. He has complained for a very long while that he cannot breathe properly, which I have ignored and it turns out that the structure of his septum is skew and consequently blocking his nasal passage - this has also been exacerbated by a rugby injury to the nose last season. So I received a phone call from the hospital today to do all the pre-admittance checks in advance - very efficient I thought - but then she said I was allowed to go into theatre with him until he was anaesthetised, and then when he came out I would have a room to stay in and all I had to bring were my toiletries and pyjamas. A room to stay? He is nearly 16 years old, for goodness sake, I had no intention of staying overnight and he certainly does not want me hanging around all night and fussing. Maybe I am being a terrible mum, but I don't think that is necessary.

Luke is going on 3 week rugby tour to South Africa on Sunday and consequently has pre-tour rugby training this week. I can think of nothing worse than fitness training and rugby drills in this heat. When he got home - driving himself, what a joy for me - he was so tired and sore that we sat outside on the lawn chatting about his day. It was the perfect opportunity to take some photos, especially when Murdoch came and sat next to him for a cuddle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.