The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Highland summer

The hot dry weather is speeding up the transition into high Summer. The flowering grasses are turning brown, and the leaves of trees have gone from bright to deep green. The last two mornings have been quite misty because of the high humidity.

This may be the last Highland shot for a while as I shall be avoiding this field from now on. For my trouble getting low to take this, my trousers were literally smothered with hundreds of ticks, most of them very tiny but a few bigger ones amongst. The Frontline on Gus only works for a few weeks, and we need to spare him the risk of contracting Lyme's disease, so I shall be trying to keep him away from the long grass where the Highlands are.

I shall be leaving comments off for a few days at least. With the demands of work and other things that need doing at home, I am short on the mental energy to spend time on the computer/iPad. I have been unable to post more than a few comments for those kind people who take the trouble to comment on my journal, and I am not happy about accepting comments when I am failing to give them. Some people say that they like the opportunity to comment whatever, but that doesn't stop me feeling guilty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.