Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Salad days

I gave in last night and took a sleeping tablet. I'd been going through sleepless nights for most of the previous week and just wanted a night of uninterrupted sleep for a change. It worked. Too well.

I should have taken half a tablet rather than the whole thing, because I was still sleepy when I woke at 9:00 am and still dopey when I got back from my monthly hormone jab at 12:00. I should have resisted, but I didn't, so I grabbed a nap after my visit to the doctor and a quick drop-in to the Supervalu near his surgery. That's where I stocked up on lots of salad ingredients for my evening meal. I was a great one for salads in my twenties and thirties, but I've gone off it as time's passed. After a lovely plate of beautiful fresh food, I can't imagine why I'm not more of a salad eater. Another note to self is called for, I think.

We said goodbye to the sun yesterday and today. It's stayed warm, but it's been overcast (cloudy, really) all the time. Sun or no sun, though: salad is yer only man at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.