Mollymay

By mollymay49

Badges

This is my Dad with the two badges my mum gave to me after he passed away, they were with letters from the time he served in the 2nd World War addressed to mum from Dad, my older sister has those in safe keeping and Dads Service Medals went to my Brother Rob which will now go to his Son.
Dad was recruited in 1942 aged 19 along with hundreds of other young men at the start of the 2nd World War into the Cheshire Regiment (the Star above)
He was then sent to Clacton-On-Sea Jan. 1942 for 6 months training, then a couple of months in the Somerset training camp.
In 1943 (far left pic.) he was assigned to the Duke Of Cornwall's Regiment (Cap Badge above) the regiment served in Iraq & Palestine, and I know he went to Cairo at some stage.
They went on to Italy in 1944 where Dad was captured and reported missing until the end of the war, when he was released in 1945 (the far right pic.) the American army delivered him to the Red Cross who saw him safely home.
these are two very special badges to me. like hundreds of other soldiers dad never spoke of his army days until i pushed and prodded one day just a couple of years before he died, to tell me where he went and what he did. This much i wrote down the rest we never knew.
I do have a book which my brother Rob sent me a long time ago called "the Duke Of Cornwall's Light Infantry 1939-1945 written by Major E.G Godfrey M.C", 2" thick! my Dads old Regiment has a mention in this book, and there was much to tell.
Today's Challenge: topic "Badges"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.