Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Summer fun with Summer Pops

Yes, this is not the most compelling photo, but it does show several of my fellow Summer Pop orchestra members packing up their gear after tonight's rehearsal with substitute director Travis (at left) filling in for our regular director, Nick, who is on vacation with his family.

This is my first time participating in Summer Pops, and what fun it is. It is truly a community orchestra with musicians ranging in ages from 8 years to, uh, well beyond 8 years. We rehearse twice a week for only 3 weeks, and will have a performance in Pioneer Park, Ferndale, on Sunday, July 28 at 1:00pm.

Prior to tonight's rehearsal, Joan (in back, center, speaking with Kyle in white shorts) and I met with the second of three candidates we are interviewing to be our potential next cello teacher as Pall, who initiated us into the world of cello, intends to retire this fall. Ever since my NJ/NYC trip, I've fallen quite a bit off my practice regimen, but between Summer Pops, a new teacher, and maybe, just maybe even a new orchestra in the fall, I'm back at it, and enjoying every minute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.