Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Buzz if you know the answer.

I returned to yesterday's blip site with the hound and the macro lens plus flash. I had no idea how difficult illuminating a rabbit burrow could be, I even remembered to go with manual focus as the lens took on a mind of it's own in auto.

The bees are settling in, gathering lichen and tiny amounts of soil. The area around the nest looks terraced as the bees have "swept" soil into piles before taking it into the nest area, consequently it looks as if a human has put finger tips in the dust, odd behaviour as it's built in dry soil.

For getting too close I was stung on the left hand. Managed to remove the sting and even felt sad for the poor bee (female) that did for me as she died in front of me.

Apparently they will move site in a few months. People have been wandering past without noticing the nest site, time to keep schtum. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.