Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

A bit of thought

I set up my little macro studio a few months ago, but had problems with getting backdrops that I wanted to use being held in place. It all became very Heath Robinson. So then I started thinking about how we use tripods to keep cameras in a fixed place, while listening to a piece of music I had one of those "State the Bloody Obvious" moments. A music stand. My original idea was to use a full sized stand, which has attendant problems of getting in the way etc, while wandering through Amazon I cam across this little beauty, made in Germany by Stagg it's a portable folding music stand. The material will be held in place by the yellow clips then draped across the desk surface.
Mrs Booty took me to Truro fabrics yestarday. What fun, the ladies there were magnificent, knew exactly what I wanted and why, then we talked about material. :-)))
What it comes down to is the stand cost £7 the 4 types of velvet cost £25 (0.5 metre of each) velvet absorbs all the light, doesn't shine and can be faded into a matt background in Lightroom.

The next thing to do is extend the rear with a small shelf so th estand can be moved far enough away from the camera - this is for display purposes only - "Serving Suggestion."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.