The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Cardinal

I was walking along by the river the first day I was here, and hearing this squawk I looked up to see this bright red bird fly from the tree above me to another out of sight!
Since then I have been eager to see another and today I was rewarded with one sitting on a branch right above me preening himself!
They really are spectacular birds, the wonderful colour and the crest on the head make them look very exotic indeed.
I am told they are really common round here.
Not the best picture I am afraid as I don't have a decent birding lens, and the colour burns out! but I thought you might enjoy seeing him anyway
Sorry about my lack of comments, but it is all I can do here in the US to blip!!! I will catch up as soon as I am back I promise :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.