The view from Mountshaft

By Mountshaftsview

My biggest fan

Maybe this is an indication of attaining middle age, but I keep rediscovering things I'd forgotten about or overlooked which have suddenly attained a new-found significance and place in our lives.
This beautiful fan is apparently something of a 'design classic', which I bought in the early 90s. For the last ten or so years, it has been discarded and left to gather dust.
However, the current heatwave has elevated its status to essential. So I've spent the best of the day, dismantling it, brushing it down, dusting and polishing its every curve and crevice.
It looks magnificent again. I can't wait to switch it on, stand back, hold down anything vulnerable and feel its full cooling force! (It sounds reminiscent of a spitfire taking off ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.