The view from Mountshaft

By Mountshaftsview

The Fat Controller

I'm nearing the end of months of clearing, editing and discarding papers, ephemera, fabric, magazines and general clutter which has been building up in my work room for years.
It has been a ruthless process; if it doesn't elicit a feeling of immediate joy, it's out. It's also been incredibly cathartic and helped me take huge steps towards making sense of my 'lost decade', and move on.
One piece of nonsense I couldn't bring myself to part with is a Thomas The Tank Engine's Fat Controller, a wind-up toy from work.
My naughty former workmates and I nicknamed a portly colleague after him; he was the editor-in-chief of our railway titles, and a self-proclaimed expert and 'voice of the industry'. As he strode down his corridors of power, we'd wind up The Fat Controller and watch him match his stride for stride.
"Hold that front page, I'm on me way!"
Great memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.