The Wren

By TheWren

Today's pickings

.... and I just wish you could smell them too!

Sweetpeas are quintessential summer as far as I am concerned and this year mine have completely surpassed themselves. I just love the fact that the more you pick the more they seem to want to produce yet more luscious flowers. I wish my vegetable garden was as productive. I had a good look at the broad beans today and while there had been a lot of flowers earlier, very, very few appear to have set into beans, possibly due to the cold spring. The runner beans are just coming into flower at the moment so I sincerely hope the bees are more plentiful now it is so much warmer.

I was going to give the evening yoga a miss as it was so warm but eventually decided to go - and I am glad I did as it has eased out my gardening back. I really apologise for being such a bad commenter at the moment but the garden is keeping me incredibly busy, but i will come back to your journals very soon. The goosegogs are nearly all picked but i still have blackcurrants to finish pulling as they ripen and then it will be the turn of the tayberries. My freezer is filling up nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.