An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

Napping

We went to the local community parade today, which was really quite something to see. I think the whole Island turned out to either be in or watch the parade. We went to the farmer's market and walked around town a bit. Mr. Apple gave me some alone time which I spent quietly sipping iced coffee and buying out the children's section of the local bookstore. They had a really wonderful little selection of books I haven't seen anywhere else.

This photograph is from BabyApple's afternoon nap. She was really indulging in a long nap so I eventually needed to wake her up. When I went in, she didn't want to wake up and was dead to the world. I went back and got my camera and I photographed her while I slowly unwrapped her blanket and talked to her to wake her up. I got this great series of images of her emerging reluctantly from a very good sleep.

For dinner, we took a walk into town not really knowing what we were looking for. What we stumbled onto was magic. We found a wood fired pizza place that, in the heat of the summer, had jut set up outside the restaurant. There was a lawn full of picnic tables and all kinds of people and families having dinner. The guy taking orders was my cashier from the bookstore earlier in the day. There were little girls in flowery dresses playing. The sun was a golden beautiful light. Two girls showed up and started an impromptu uke/guitar/folk singing concert and children and adults gathered round to listen. It was absolutely magical. I drank wine from a canning jar and took Instagram photos. Mr. Apple drank some beers and bounced/walked BabyApple around in the backpack. When the food came it was local and delicious. The pizza had smoked tomatoes and chèvre and was delicious. He ate my crusts while he fed the baby and drank a beer. I couldn't have loved him more at the moment.

We finished up and hiked back home, stopping for a bottle of wine at the grocery store, the clerk saying, "Is that all?" In a way we could only imagine to be judgey.

BabyApple was getting crazy sleepy on the way home so I made up a song and sang to her all the way as we walked. It kept her happy and made the time pass.

We told her how much we loved her and put her to bed. Mr. Apple and I stayed up talking for the first time in ages. Is this what it would be like with no TV?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.