DDW

By DDW

Standing Tall

It's funny how one's perception of a concept can change. I was wandering around the garden early this morning, in search of something tall to photograph before the heat became too unbearable.

I had plans to photograph the large butterfly bush that was just transplanted from where it had seeded itself next to the barn to a new garden surrounding the guest house. It was a "volunteer" from another butterfly bush growing in the front yard, and before I realized it, it had grown to about seven feet tall!

Of all times to plant a new garden, this isn't it. Not with withering heat and suffocating humidity. Consequently I am spending a large portion of my days with a hose in hand, water, water, watering wilting hydrangeas, sagging ferns, floppy hostas and battered butterfly bushes!

Walking back to the house, I noticed this slender-stemmed mushroom standing proudly in the freshly mown lawn. Even though it's only about five inches tall, it towers over the dew spangled grass surrounding it. No butterfly bush, but a giant in its own little world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.