The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

And He Played On

93 degrees Fahrenheit
Real feel, 110
4.5 hours directly in the path of the sun
Not one break
And only one small bottle of water

Some musicians, like Nathanial, just need to play on
Air conditioned venues be damned
My One Street is his stage

I first heard his music at 10 am and looked down 37 stories with my binoculars to see a small crowd gathering forth. Even from far above, I could also see the heat building in his body. Soon it was 1 pm and I realized he played on without a break. Finally by 2:30, I took the elevator to the street, as I had to meet this man.

Nathanial was as kind as he was musically talented. The Stones, Eddie Vedder, Van Morrison, The Moody Blues...he played them all with his Gibson Guitar and a tambourine duct taped to his foot. His instruments were only outdone by his soulful voice.

And his energy is infectious.

I ended up working until 1 am and was drained when I got home so I collapsed into bed. This is a back-blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.