Scribbler

By scribbler

'WTC Memorabilia'

Painting done in a PNCA studio class on Abstract Expressionism, October 2005.
Charcoal, chalk, sumi ink, black and white acrylic paint (as best I can recall).
SOOC (cropped to edges), full color.


It took years for me to find any virtue in this class exercise
painted in a studio full of clay dust
on cheap paper provided by a stingy teacher.

I was mourning the anniversary of the destruction
of the World Trade Center, 9/11/2001.
Other than that, I have no idea what the title means.

For years I was tempted to tear up this painting and recycle it.

One day I got tired of my bare white walls and tacked up some art.
I hung this opposite my bed.
I look at it all the time.

The more I look, the more I see.
I'm amazed to keep finding new images in this imageless space.

I wish with all my heart
that I could paint another abstract painting
that pleases me half as much as this one.
I doubt I ever could.

-------------------------------------------

For all your good wishes and kind thoughts,
thank you, merci, gracias, danke, todah, spasibo. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.