Scribbler

By scribbler

Fall flourish

Hillside tree, NW Raleigh and 28th. SOOC.

A cool grey morning, with drizzle. Even when the sun came out, it was chilly in the shade. A month after the solstice, the sun is losing its burn.

"Mid-July"

Dandelion tree
exuberantly bursting
wtih rockets' pale glare.


-------------------------------

PHOTOGRAPHY NOTE

Two days ago I shot several trees ablaze with fall color, and blipped one.
Today I thought I'd go back and blip another. Easy do-over.

"You can't step in the same river twice."
-- Heraclitus


No two shots are the same, not even at the same hour two days apart.
Everything is different: the humidity in the air, the progress of the sap within the bark, the position of the earth in its elliptical journey around the sun. The effects of light.

I was stunned by the changed appearance of the same trees at roughly the same time of day. It wasn't the trees that had changed, it was the light on the trees. The Japanese maple with its scorching red had turned dull and lackluster. All that had drawn my eye seemed uninteresting, and foliage that went unnoticed two days ago captivated me today.

Therefore (I'm telling myself) don't hesitate. Be prepared.
Take every opportunity.
Then choose bravely.

-------------------------------

SCRIBBLER'S ODYSSEY

A wry and wise writer friend peered at me over the top of her reading glasses when I announced my intention to write my first novel.

"Well, my dear," she said, "your house is going to be very clean."

She meant that many temptations lie between the desire and the goal. Even vacuuming comes to seem more appealing than the writer's job, Apply butt to chair.

That's where I am now. I need to finish an 80,000 word draft, edit it, and put it into the world. First my house will be very clean. Then, when I can think of no other distractions, I will start scribbling.

"Writing is easy. You just sit down at a typewriter and open a vein."
-- Red Smith


Blipfoto is so tempting. I had comments turned off briefly, but was persuaded to reinstate them. If I find them irresistible I will have to turn them off again. Not your fault!

You have no idea how much I miss you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.