Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GLASS

I have seen this beautiful sculpture many times and thought I could use it as a blip, but earlier in the week, noticed that the birds had kindly deposited little gifts on it which made it look rather messy. So yesterday, armed with cleaning materials, I set to and gave it a good clean - probably the first it has had!! I had intended it to be my yesterday's blip, but changed my mind - well it is a woman's prerogative, after all!

However, this morning, as I was excited about Mr. HCB coming back down here, I was up at 6 and out by 6.30 a.m. I picked up several discarded bottles in the car park, pushed some glass from the pavement into the gutter, so no-one would cut themselves (but didn't want to blip that!)

So here is GLASS for the HeartFreek July Photo Challenge.

"Murano", by Dorset artist, Andy Kirby, is one of 7 sculptures on Sea Road, and this one is near to Boscombe Pier, linking the seafront with the shopping precinct as part of the Boscombe Arts Trail.

You need to get close up to appreciate the detail where the tentacles seem to wrap around the blue, glass container - inside the container artwork represents jellyfish. It is on a metal stand and around this is a compass rose with several scientific diagrams showing the workings of a heart, bird, octopus and fish. It was wonderful to gaze on it in the stillness of the early morning, before all the crowds arrived, and just appreciate the beauty.

A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases; it will never
Pass into nothingness; but still will keep
A bower quiet for us, and a sleep
Full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing.
John Keats 1795-1821




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.