Sailing

As part of Sail Stornoway 2013, sailing trips, organised by Falmadair (the North Lewis Maritime Society), on traditional boats were available to members of the public, so I went on my first ever sailing trip around Stornoway harbour.

I spent a lovely two hours sailing on the Jubilee, a 28 foot wooden skiff launched in 1935. In the photograph is the Broad Bay, a smaller but similar boat, who sailed out with us.

Even better was the fact that this was all done whilst I was 'working', all in aid of research and photographs for the Heritage Project!

I found out that Falmadair is a charitable organisation and they take trips out most Wednesday evenings from the harbour. Membership is just £20 a year, so I am going to join and hopefully do this more often. It would be good to learn a bit more about how the boat works and the terminology as I felt a bit lost when it came to the actual sailing of the boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.