The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

One Good Tern Deserves Another

What a bitter sweet day.

My new best mate William has gone home with his mummy, and we won't see him tomorrow as he is with his dad. I must admit I am missing the little bruiser tugging the hell out of my beard.

We are back over the in laws tonight before we head back home to South Wales tomorrow. I can't believe how quickly the past seven days have gone by.

I wandered back down to Freiston Shore this afternoon in search of a good Common Tern in flight photo. I came back with 350 odd photos, by and large Common Tern in flight ones, and then I go and use one of the bird on terra firma! I am quite chuffed with this one of it scoffing a fish or sand eel. It caught it and landed right in front of the hide. This is why I love Freiston so much. I was the only one around for pretty much all of the two and half hours I was there. There is so little disturbance that if you are patient enough you can get rewarded with some awesome views of birds.

I did manage to get loads of in flight pictures, I have edited some and others from the visits to Freiston in a summer flickr set.

I knew it was going to be a visit when a very recently fledged Dunnock chick landed in Steve and Pam's back garden just before I left, and I had my camera in my hand!

I managed a few shots of him.

Dunnock Fledgling #1

Dunnock Fledgling #2

Back home tomorrow ... sad face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.