The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

All The Small (Skippers) Things #11

I escaped! I escaped!

I managed a couple of hours down at Freiston Shore today. Dawn took the kids to her mum and dads.

It was beautiful down at the RSPB Reserve. Clear blue skies, a nice cool breeze and dripping with wildlife. The paths were carpeted with butterflies. I chose the Small Skippers as they were everywhere. I had to watch where I was walking there we so many. There were also decent numbers of Gatekeepers and Ringlets flitting around.

The hide was closed as they were giving it a spring clean, so I decided to walk a loop of the lagoons.

It gave me a chance to have a look at the Oystercatcher and Common Tern colonies there. I got a few half decent pictures of the Common Terns in flight. I am going to have another go at getting some shots of them tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Both colonies were under constant threat by marauding Herring Gulls. These large gulls were constant on the look out for eggs or stray chicks in the colonies. I really got an insight into the constant life and death struggle that goes on at these colonies.

All in all a great day ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.