Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Waiting for Oliver

Seemed Oliver had not stuck to his alcohol free regime while in Croatia and could not pilot his jet to act as BBQ chef at this evenings visit from Mr & MrsB.

While waiting, we spent hours studying bottle labels and very importantly I actually found a bottle of Pimms with enough content for a glass, maybe two. MrB had, on arriving, asked me what Pimms was, having read about it in yesterdays Blip. I couldn't adequately describe it and as it was around midnight when I found the bottle, I gave it to him to try out at home. I wonder if there is any Pimms left on the shelves in the UK after Angelique and others have been downing the stuff in such quantities the last few days.

I managed to get the BBQ lit (just), but after a pint of shandy was no longer in a position to do any grilling, so Angie took over while I tried, without success, to put together a sentence of more than 4 words. Mr&MrsB hopefully put it down to my health. The result of Angie's work certainly looked and tasted good to me and I think went down well. That MrB after finishing said "the meal was a bit fatty" has nothing to do with the quality but is the standard German phrase for, it's time for a "Digestion" schnapps and so out came the various bottles. MrsB remained alcohol free as she had to drive the 800 meters home and being in the medical world, reminded us that alcohol worked negatively against a "fatty meal". The warning seemed to fall on deaf ears.

I wonder what would have happened had MrB been called out by the police to track down an injured deer. His dog, Donna was on standby all evening but as she is a 100% hunting dog she had to sit in the car due to the danger of her going after our cats. Shame, she is very friendly and gets on well with Flash (Luna hasn't met her yet) but she is a pure working dog. Luckily the mobile didn't ring and sometime in the early hours, we said our farewells after a very pleasant, amusing evening.

While it was only around 17°C at 2:00am it was nice to sit outside. Both Angie and I enjoyed it very much and thank you both for the lovely pressies including the honey and especially the chromium free working gloves for me. My hands always seem to suffer badly when I wear leather working gloves particularly when they get wet and it is probably an allergic reaction to the chromium used in the tanning process.

Oliver, next time I will give you 24 hours notice. Angelique, keep drinking the stuff: have just discovered Diageo now owns Pimms and as an ex-employee, still have a token number of shares, so every glass of the stuff could help reduce my overdraft. Have also just found out there is a winter Pimms so don't stop when the sun disappears.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.