The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Unplugged

Woken at 7 by postie wanting a signature for what turned out to be a rare recording by Sam Stall and the Sink-rates doing some classic hang gliding songs. Who could remain unmoved by the haunting Splat Splat Splat or the eloquence of such timeless beauties as I'm Going XC and Hear me Lord which starts:
Hear me Lord
If you've any understanding
Let me walk away
From my impending landing

I had tears rolling down my face by the end of the disc. The last time I heard these was in 1985 when I bootlegged a copy in a tent in Spain and Ed found out and confiscated the tape.

Sort of late birthday party day ensued. Lunch in the garden with KfC then a walk and - after being passed by an octogenarian jogger - a run up the hill in the rain with Carl and then Dave and Caroline round for tea to discuss such weighty problems as missing bicycle panniers and the perfect holiday destination.

Aren't people great?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.