Letting go

I realise that I have been holding on to some hurts. I realise that the little nugget of bitterness sitting inside of me is holding me back. I have decided to divest myself of this anger, of this pain and just let it go. I sat back this afternoon and realised that I have survived; better than survived - I have flourished. The evil of the past has no hold over me and I no longer care about it. It has gone. It has been dealt with. I have to forgive and let it go.

I need to be more like little Pio, stretching in the sunshine because he can. Reaching the height of happiness just by appreciating the little things around me.

I'm off to Mangawhai tomorrow. I'm looking forward to seeing DW and UW and their menagerie. I'll miss my boys, but know they'll be well looked after.

See you all tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear ...

I am writing to you to let you know that I have decided to let go of the anger I have been feeling towards you for over a year and a half now. I am going to move on from this and be the bigger person. I realise that by disliking you and by being angry with you, I am only hurting myself. Thus, I have decided to forgive you for stabbing me in the back.

I have decided to look upon this as an opportunity that you gave me, rather than a low blow. In acting to suit your own agenda and by doing me wrong, you helped me to take the step that I needed to jump out of the pot of boiling water and find a new direction. You forced me to make a move that I should have made a long time ago. You forced me to look at life in a different way.

In doing that, I have found new opportunities which I never thought possible. If your motives were to hurt me and to grind me into the ground like a used cigarette butt, you have failed in your agenda. I have risen from this situation a stronger, better and more valued person than I ever was when you were in my life.

Now, when I see you, I no longer feel bitterness or anger well up in me; I actually just feel sorry for you. I can look at myself in a mirror and know that I handled things with dignity and poise. Can you say the same?

So, goodbye to any negativity I have been harbouring towards you. Now I feel nothing. When I speak your name I feel nothing. When I hear your name I feel nothing. You have no hold over me. I am free.

Kind regards

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.