Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

How High?

No snow today. A little disappointing, as there had been a snow "warning" (warning? rly?) for snow down to 800m today. It might have been cold enough to snow, but the sky was beautifully clear - so nothing with which to produce any frozen water product. We headed up to Leura anyway, for fudge, for a beautiful lunch at Zest, and for triumphant bookshopping, and for Josophan's chocolate. On the station awaiting our train I snapped this, as the kids were seeing how high they could jump and reach up this painted wall. 8)

Large here.

Earlier in the morning I headed down almost to Blaxland. On foot. Running. I'm rather pleased with myself, as for the second weekend in a row I've done my longest run: 13 km last Sunday, and 15 today. :-D It felt really, really good. I actually didn't want to turn around, but thought I should probably start to head back. ;-) The trip home was slower as well, as it was not just uphill, but into a headwind. Rather a cold one too, so at least that was helpful, but at times I did feel as though I was being blown backwards. xP

I think also, that the distance recorded by my apps must be as the crow flies. Why? Because on the return I came to a couple of downhills up which I had trudged wearily on the outward trip; being too tired, with feet too sore to consider trying to moderate my speed, I became gravity's bitch, and accelerated mightily. Well, I like to think it was mighty. In any case, it was very definitely at least as fast as I have gone before, and that was about 3:30/km (for far less than a km, I hasten to add; that's only a short sprint - a sprint for me, anyway). However, Runmeter told me at the end of that km that my fastest pace during the km was something like 4:15 or so. Bollocks to that, I say. So I thought perhaps it is a function of me running the hypotenuse, and Runmeter measuring one of the other sides.

So I ran along doing trigonometry in my head ;-) and came out with ... I'm sitting here trying to work it out again, and am fascinated by how much more readily I could do it while running. O_õ

Right, laboriously thought it through again: say (for the maths) 100m as the crow flies; slope was 40-45 degrees I reckon, call it 45; square on the hypotenuse (where I ran) equal to sum of squares on other two sides; 10,000 + 10,000 = 20,000; square root of 20,000; square root of two and chop the zeroes; about 140m or so; 4:15 says Runmeter = 25 sec for 100m; about 6 2/3 x 140 for a km (ok I used 150 m to make the maths easier - I had run about 10km by this time, and was still running xP ); 6 2/3 x 25s = 2 min + 30s + 16s = 2:46 or near enough (2/3 x 24 for ease of maths xP ); probably less of a slope than I thought, so the distance wouldn't be as much, so increase/round up; definitely still not going to be much more than 3 min/km.

So there. xP

If you've made it this far, I thank you. If you like, you can listen to some music I made on my iPhone; I made the beat while walking home from my massage yesterday, and messed about with the synths and looper in bed last night. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.