The Wind Rises

I think that's the English title of the Ghibli movie now on air in theaters?

I went to watch it at the earliest time it's available to make my Sunday as meaningful as possible.
No intension to spoil the intersted people who haven't seen it yet, but I thought leaving my impressions here.
It was a great film.

1. Impressed with the description of the social conditions of Japan from 1923 to 1945, a drastic era for the country. Historical evidence is I believe very well implemented in the story. An unwealthy nation puting it's priorities/investments highly on military industry to protect themselves against their surroundings.

I hope younger Japanese generations will watch this movie for general understanding of our modern history. (It is not taught properly in schools in schools unfortunately.)

2. The leading characters both (I believe) very well represent a young Japanese person's attitudes or way of thinking those days.
I kind of sympathize with Jiro there who had high ambitions and made them come true through various efforts (and also kind of unconcerned about other desires). Work is still an important aspect to acheive something which I personally believe and many others in this country probably understand too.


Election again for the half of the House of Councillors.
This country has lot's of problems to handle and I suppose it's the time to end the "twisted Diet" to get things moving while Abenomics still seems to be working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.