Does twice make a tradition?

Another year, another Tour de France comes to finish on the Champs Elysees in Paris and I'm blipping the TV and my laptop again. And another 'British' winner in Chris Froome, last year faithful lieutenant to Bradley Wiggins, this year team leader for Team Sky with or without Wiggo. As it turned out Wiggins was injured and wasn't able to start the race, so there was no tension within the team between the two of them. After last week's discussion at Socrates Cafe about tradition, I wonder what makes a tradition? I suppose it has to start somewhere and I guess whereas once is an isolated incident, the second time is the beginning of a sequence. The race has delayed its entrance into Paris until the early evening so we will have a night-time finish for the 100th Tour. And this year the circuit includes going round the Arc De Triomphe rather than turning just short of the top of the Champs Elysees. But I will leave blipping now to concentrate on the conclusion of the race. Can Cav win the final sprint for a fifth time?
And one other thing, as Paris is on my mind - the anniversary of Hemingway's birth today - back in 1899.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.