Mikey88

By Mikey88

A Splash of Gold

Another picture of a california poppy. I hope you're not getting bored with them, but they are such a beautiful colour and so delicate as they flutter in the slightest breeze. They have really added to the garden.

I finished sorting the last of the photographs for my wife's school this morning, so they will be ready to go out tomorrow, then took the pictures of the poppies (another case of lying around the garden with my head stuck in the foliage!) and then a nice leisurely lunch.

The afternoon was spent cutting various things back in the garden and building a logpile. Actually, it's more of a stick pile, as we haven't got any largish logs, but hopefully it will be a home for a range of creatures.

I got the idea from reading the RSPB magazine, which has a theme of 'Giving Nature a Home'. We already do a fair amount of what is recommended, but we're going to try and up our game a bit. The magazine is well worth a read, as is membership.

Then it was prepare a salad for tea - much too hot for the normal Sunday roast, and then finishing by watering the garden. The pond is looking very low, but it looks like we could get some rain next week. Several froglets made a bid for freedom in the garden after the watering. I think they thought it had rained, so I hope they don't dehydrate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.