Home made Guacamole

Served with baked stale bread croutons - for lunch followed by nectarine.
(Avacado pear, spring onion chopped, lemon juice, salt & pepper. When any bread or crusts get stale I freeze them for future use in all sorts of delicious ways!)

Breakfast: Muesli with strawberries and mango.


Dinner: Roast chicken breast with roast potatoes and leeks. Served with, but not shown, bread sauce (breadcrumbs from freezer) rasher of bacon, gravy from pan juices.

Later: Baked apple (with currants & brown sugar - from kitchen cupboard) (while the oven was on!)

I cut the chicken in half and froze one half for later in the week. I used the fat from yesterday's fried chorizo to baste the bird and covered the breast with 2 rashers of streaky bacon. The potatoes were roasted in the same pan and the chopped leeks were added half way through cooking.

Inspired by The Skint Foodie Blog and due to financial constraints, I am aiming to feed myself well for £20 a week. I haven't priced out each meal, but my shop for this week was exactly £20 (see yesterday's blip.)
Watch this space....

In other news I have been glued to the TV for much of the day, enjoying a British (kinda) victory in the Tour de France - well done Chris Froome.
Bravo too the Brits in the 'Open' who didn't quite match the inspired play by Phil Mickelson.

In further news I lost my cool with a cyclist today. The lanes are narrow and bendy in these parts. There are a lot of cyclists. It is very difficult to overtake without compromising their safety, unless they keep in on the straighter parts. I followed this one guy for 2.5 miles, without being able to pass. He then made a descent to the main road down a steep and winding hill that was ridiculous, cutting the bends, trying to emulate the professionals by adopting the tuck position for a couple of seconds, wobbling across the centre of the lane, before trying to repeat. At the T junction at the bottom, he stopped - just - and I shouted out the window...

"You're not in the blipping Tour de France"

I felt so much better afterwards!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.