dfb24

By dfb24

Amish Buggies

If you saw yesterday's blip you know we travelled to my sister-in-law's house for a grad. party. There is a large population of the Amish all around this area so the plan was to go try to get a couple of "amish" pictures today before heading home. These are very traditional Amish, so they don't have cars or phones; they don't use electricity, their fields are plowed with horses, & their mode of transportation is the horse & buggy. They don't like to have their picture taken, & I respect that, so my plan was to try to photograph the buggies. We knew that on Sundays they all gather at one of the homesteads for services, which last most of the day, so we went driving around to try to find out which homestead they were at. The good news was that we found the gathering....the bad news was it was pouring rain! Although I took some shots I wasn't happy with them, as they all had "orbs" in them form the raindrops! We went back to my sister-in-laws' farm for lunch, then left to come back home. My husband, bless his heart, drove the long way around so that we'd pass the homestead again, & even tho' it was still raining, it was down to a drizzle instead of a downpour & I was able to get some better shots. The horses were all tied up to a fence in a big long line, along side the red barn that you can just see on the lt.--Couldn't get a clear shot of them, though, so settled on the buggies. We could hear them all singing, & it sounded just beautiful! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.