Certainly Uncertain

By shyBadger

Black Eyed Spider

I've been eyeing a spot along the highway by my house for a while now. It is full of black eyed susans and I thought it would be a great backdrop for one of my 'Summer' shots. Mr. Badger and I were heading down south today anyways and we stopped along the highway to give it a try. As we are going up, there is an enormous amount of dead flowers and grass - as we take each step, locusts and grasshoppers spring from everywhere ... and once even a very large yellow and black garden spider squiggled across my path. Loki thought it was OMG amazing and tried to catch all the bugs. The photo on the left of today's blip is another yellow and black garden spider resting on a black eyed susan. Loki had haplessly run through the spider's web, making her very angry! I've never seen spiders like this before .... perfect camouflage for the black and yellow flowers! I bet they've caught a fair number of grasshoppers in their webs ;) Loki was so interested in all the stuff going on around him, it was hard to get him to concentrate. But I squeezed off a couple of shots and we headed back to the car. Lesson learned: Pretty flower fields look much more beautiful far away, out of the heat, and going 65 mph+ !!

I managed to finish putting together the second raised bed today, I dug up the grass where one of the bed's is going, and stacked the two beds in the now naked ground. Hopefully next time I can finish up the bed by filling it with dirt and veggies :) Hope you all had a productive weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.