The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Westbrook

As I was driving home the other day I caught a glimpse in the landscape of a dozen or more horses in a field near Westbrook and pulled over to have a look. The group were in one field and there were more horses in another section of the field divided by some hedging along some of its depth, and this one was curious enough to wander over, but didn't come near enough to touch.

You can see some of Bromham's housing in the distance.

L.
21.7.2013

Blip #1024
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #1209

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Horses series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Sam and Dave - I Can't Stand Up For Falling Down (1967)
Wrongs righted #3. Oh, it's too short - why does it fade out like that?
I think most people if asked to name songs by Sam and Dave would be able to name Soul Man, Hold On I'm Coming, You Don't Know Like I Know and maybe When Something Is Wrong With My Baby. Certainly, when Elvis Costello released his very upbeat version, from the Get Happy album in 1980, of this forgotten gem, it was a song I had no knowledge of.
Sam and Dave's original did not appear on any of their albums, but was confined to the B-side of a live version of Soothe Me, thus burying one of the strongest songs and performances (particularly Sam Moore's lead) of their tenure at Stax Records on a single nobody bought, that wasn't even released in the UK, and that never appeared on compilations. Well done to Elvis for bringing it to our attention.

One year ago: At Last! (Again)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.