An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bum Bites and Boats...

Woke up at 7.30am thinking something's not quite right. After a few seconds I realised I was so hot I could hardly breathe. There are massive patio doors that take up one wall of our holiday house bedroom and we sleep with the doors wide open but the shutters closed, to try and get some fresh air. The trouble is there is no fresh air!

A cold, wet flannel wrapped round the back of my neck helped. Utter bliss in fact.
Then I discovered that some greedy insect had been feasting on me during the night. I have 14 bites in all, including one slap bang in the middle of my left bum cheek, which has had me scratching in a very unladylike fashion for most of the day! That'll teach me to sleep in the buff with only Avon's Skin So Soft to protect me. Jammies and Jungle Formula tonight!

Jesus, listen to me! What a moaning mini. Heat and insect bites aside, we've actually had (and are still having) a lovely day. Lie in till 10am. Croque Monsieurs for lunch then we headed down to the little port about 5 minutes from the house (after David had to chase a 3 foot lizard actually 3 inch but you know men and measurements ;) out of the kitchen.

Gorgeous down at the port not only because of all the lovely boats, but because there was a cooling sea breeze!

Went for a short and very slow (but more than I ever thought I'd be able to manage this time last week!) wander along the edge of the marina before stopping off at a little café and sitting outside eating crepes (pistachio ice cream, choc sauce and Chantilly cream for me & caramel, salt and Chantilly cream for David. Alan stuck with the choc buttons :) before I parked myself on a bench to take some photos and D & A headed off for an explore.

Had a mild panic when I thought there was a fault with my camera as the shutter speed was so slow, before realising the battery was needing charged. Phew! Resorted to my phone for today's blip.

Back at the villa now. Everyone else is in the pool, whilst I sit in the shade trying to cool down. Time for G&T once the rest are out the pool then dinner sitting in the garden, with some activity planning for the rest of the week. Although I do believe D&K have golf booked for tomorrow.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.