Life through the lens...

By ValC

Summer's first.

I wonder if like me each year you look forward to the first taste of something fresh.
First local asparagus.
First English strawberries, gooseberries, raspberries, peas, broad beans etc.

Well today we had the first of Tom's tomatoes.
Pictured here with a pot of basil.
That wonderful smell of a fresh picked tomato! Can't beat it!

I have written about Tom before. SEE HERE
Now in his mid eighties.
Looking more tired today.
Just wonder how long he can continue with his nursery.
Many years to come I hope!

So for lunch it was just tomato sandwiches, in brown bread.
Tomorrow morning it will be tomatoes on toast.
Will then get out all my tomato recipes for the next few weeks!

Don't you just love Summer!!
Except it is going to rain tomorrow!
Never mind the gardens, and farmers need it!
Just hope it knows when to stop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.