Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Watching Glastonbury

On the TV as I was not actually there.

This picture didn't turn out as I had imagined it. I wanted to show inside my head what I was watching through my eyes and had intended to create the inside of my face like the inside of a mask, but by the time I had added the Pyramid stage, there was no space left to create this image, so it looks more like something painted onto the back of my head than something inside my head. Something to try another day perhaps, and I brought a mask at the weekend which I plan to photograph and experiment with.

I've been to Glastonbury 3 times and never had a dry one. It's a fantastic experience and I believe that even people who don't care much for music would find the whole environment quite amazing. It really is a small pop up village for a few days.

Badminton was not brilliant last night. There were only 4 of us playing for 2 hours with no breaks and it was HOT. So hot that the people on the court next to us quit early. What was worse was the revelation by Tim that his underwear were rotting away and in danger of disintegrating. Coming from anyone else, this might have been viewed as a joke, but this was Tim - I believe he was serious. Single man you see. No woman to tell him it's time to invest in some new boxers :-)

The missing person last night was Diana. She broke a tooth at the weekend eating a bowl of sugar puffs! If that's all it took, the tooth must have been in some state. Anyway, she has an appointment at the dentists today and is convinced they will remove what remains of the tooth. She is not looking forward to that, and who can blame her.

Rosina had her first lecture yesterday and the Australian students ribbed her about the so called heatwave in the UK, asking if that meant the mercury had reached 20 degrees for 3 days in a row. She can easily shut them up by mentioning the cricket and Australia's impending loss of the ashes :-)

Yesterday's blip was entitled 'boys and their toys'. As if to prove my own point, I have just purchased another camera that I so didn't need; a Sony RX-100. Plan is to replace my Fuji X10, my camera of choice when I don't want to lug a DSLR around. The Fuji is an excellent camera, but the lens doesn't retract into the body so it is not really pocketable whereas the lens on the Sony sits almost flush so should be much less of an issue to carry around. I look forward to trying the Sony out. I won't offload the Fuji until I have had a chance to compare the two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.