West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Golden Boy Hoy

Today, as many of you will be aware, marks the day a year hence when the opening ceremony of the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. I heard on 5Live that the launch was taking place at the Royal Concert Hall in the city. I was so tired and feeling a little nauseous from the pain relief and listened with apathy to the repeated link on the news. A little before 7 the announcement that 5Live would be interviewing Sit Chris Hoy... a chance of a celebrity Blip????

I walked the short distance across the city to the Concert Hall, there were stilt walkers and the Press Pack, radio and television crews as well as the paparazzi. Sir Chris was a gentleman as he was mananged down the line of television and radio interviews each strictly time controlled I suspect to meet the needs of the 8 am news. Sir Chris is an ambassador for the games and will be a very familiar face over the next year as the games grow ever closer. Part of today's event is a 20 second challenge, two bicycles mounted on turbo trainers ad the challenge to try and match the main mans time of 20 seconds to cover 500m. Two young cyclists from a local cycling club were first off, Matthew and Morgan faced the press and the odd Blipper too I suspect watched enthusiastically by Sir Chris

After their little burst of lung blowing exertion their reward was a pose with Sir Chris, I am sure these pictures will make all of the main newspapers in Scotland today, mine has no composition not well lit but it is not every day you get a chance to shoot a Knight of the Realm so best practice went out the window for the chance to share a sporting legend with you.

I listened to people refer to Sir Chris as a hero, it is not a word I am comfortable with when talking of sports persons, they are talented in their field, better than anyone else at that time but true heroes are those who serve in our armed forces, our emergency services our hospitals, the people who touch the lives of others, people who make a difference. My hero was my maternal grandfather, a tall, distinguished man, the man I always wanted to be, the man who helped me become the man I am and who I miss every day.

I hope you enjoy this little glimpse of celebrity today and I am sure tomorrow I will return to the more sedentary entry, again best in large I suspect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.