The Wren

By TheWren

Bowed but refreshed

I have been wanting to have a blip of a foxglove in the wild before their flowers disappear as they have brightened the landscape around here over the last few weeks. Normally they are standing tall and proud, offering their layered flowers for the bees' delectation. Today, however, the rain had thundered down in the morning and during my walk this afternoon I saw this wonderful sight, the foxglove head temporarily bowed under the weight of the raindrops but undoubtedly feeling very refreshed - as was I.

No need to water the garden tonight, apart from the thirsty greenhouse, so I look forward to settling down with the new quilt I am working on for my youngest grandson.

Interestingly I have just noticed that the blip for this day last year was also a foxglove!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.