BJH

By BJH

Three little heads

On the way home after my walk with one of the sanctuary's dogs this afternoon I stopped at the artificial island and watched the Great Crested Grebe's nest for 30 minutes. In one of the shots that I took I could clearly see three little heads looking out from among the feathers on their parent's back. At its side you can also see the remains of an eggshell. I don't know whether all four eggs have now hatched though as the Grebe didn't get up from the nest during the time that I was watching it.

Just when I thought it couldn't get any hotter, it did! There was a little wind today but all this achieved was just to blow hot air around. Even with a fan on it's now 31°C inside the house and if feels like I'm sitting in an oven. Thankfully it's several degrees less hot cooler downstairs where Rosie is.

I was thinking of blipping one of the cacti that we have on the window sill of our kitchen tomorrow. Each year it produces several flowers at least once, sometimes even twice a year. Unfortunately the heat has made the flowers wilt more quickly than usually so I'll have to look for something else to blip tomorrow instead. Luckily I'd taken a few photos of this flowering cactus a few days ago and I've now put one of them in my blipfolio.


A big thank you for the lovely comments and stars on yesterday's moon blip. As always they are very much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.