Master of Suspence

Remember 'Birds' from Alfred Hitchcock? I surely did when I visited friends tonight. They had bought a nice white mobile of seagulls, but thanks to the light under it, the shadows added suspense and made this every day object pretty sinister ;-)

I also added a special photo experiment with a Segway. Click on the link BEFORE reading thisd story!

Okay you say a guy on a Segway...
Maybe some of you noticed the huge flower pots
And there are surely a few who even looked all the way to the left like I did and saw the nice green trees, but tell me honestly ....
Who spotted the green City bus under the trees?

I didn't and that's exactly what was the cause of my collision two days ago.
Here's the exact story as some asked me what on earth happened...

The recontruction
Basically the bus and I were approaching a crossing at more than average speed from different directions and although we both had looked if there was any traffic coming we were both convinced our pathway was free.

In the reconstruction it seemed there were two big 2m high flower pots in between our vision at the corner of the crossing creating a blind spot

When we both passed these pots we suddenly saw each other, but could never ever aviod a collision anymore.

The bus went full in the brakes and I tried to make a last minute right escape turn while full braking too.

If one of us would have been a milli fraction of a second slower we would have had a full collision on the front of the bus

As I had already turned for 80% parallel to the bus and only got hit on my left shoulder and foot by the right hand front side of the bus.

Making the impact less dramatic as our energy was reasonably pointing the same direction verses at a 90 degree angle.

Nevertheless I did fall under the bus and it luckily just came to a complete standstill with my ankle just a little under the front wheel.

This sum up is why I feel I was very very lucky, despite the fact that this is pretty painful too!

The colors of the bruises are becoming pretty interesting shades of blue, purple and black :-)) Another interesting thing is that I got rid of the sling / mitella as it works like a magnet strange enough. Loads of people start padding me on the shoulder asking if all is well. Needles to say that I rather endure the constant low pain than these - well meant but oh so painful - gestures of sympathy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.