Too Many Choices...

I don't often go to the store myself, having mastered the ability to get OilMan to go instead. I've also perfected he ability to make dinner out of nothing, which always reminds me of my friend Jean, who lives in Ubud, Bali, and cheerfully said one night--"well, we can go out tonight, or we can have potatoes and peanuts." Thus are memorable meals made. We had potatoes and peanuts).

It was really my turn to go, today or, for complicated reasons condemn OilMan to going tomorrow on a dread Wednesday--Senior Citizens Day. Yes, it's true, we are senior citizens, but we try not to think of ourselves that way. OilMan says he's too vain to ask for the discount on Wednesday, so he fights his way through the fragile, teetering throng without even getting the discount.

When I do go, I'm always so interested in documenting the amazing abundance of everything, that I often add to the congestion in the narrow aisles trying to take pictures of all the choices. This a picture of but two of five shelves of hot sauce. It's worth reading the names of some of them. There were 9 shelves of Mustard and more than that of tomato and barbecue sauce. There is a bakery with beautifully decorated cakes and twenty kinds of bread (and that's just the "artisan" bread.) Even though I usually skip the canned goods, pharmacy items, cleaning products, frozen foods and "snack foods", it still takes an hour and costs more than going out to dinner. Unless I manage to make two days' worth of food last two weeks....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.