Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Best Friend

Backblipped on 24th July 2013

Well, this is complicated, because this is the 1000th blip I've uploaded, so I anticipate bells and whistles and notifications and fanfares and balloons and possibly even a different coloured camera! WOW!

But in fact, this is blip no.1205, but because my uploading has been REALLY chaotic, and because the day of the real Thousandth Blip was really not a good day (and I didn't even know I was taking the thousandth photograph at the time), I thought I'd select another picture to upload for my 1000th! If you look at my journal you'll see it's really rather patchy at the moment - I've got photos for every day though, and I'm now uploading them as fast as I can in order to get back up to date and back on schedule!

For my Five Hundredth blip I featured the Wonderspouse. So, following the tradition of marking a significant blip with a significant person, here is my best friend, Scharwenka (who also blips - his journal is here). Unlike me, he isn't obsessive about taking a picture every day, and uploads what he has when he has it, which probably makes for an easier life!

I have many many many reasons to thank Scharwenka. First off, it was he who interviewed me and admitted me to Christ Church, Oxford, almost 25 years ago (had I not gone there I'd never have met the Wonderspouse). Then he supported my move to study music (he's into music), and we very soon became extremely good friends and have been ever since.

I could list way over 1000 things for which I have to thank Scharwenka - but I won't, because I'll be here all night, and I'd better spare his blushes. He knows what he's done to help first me, and, in later years, me and the Wonderspouse though. I can't imagine I'll ever have another friend as special as he is.

So, here is a 1000th blip dedicated to the best friend a person ever had. I believe we were out at the pub having lunch the day I took this picture - and I think he probably paid for lunch - so there's another thing to thank him for!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.